Faculty Information

A list of the Neuroscience Program faculty, with their contact information and a brief description of their research interests, is provided below. More details of faculty research and current laboratory rotation opportunities and projects can be found at the Graduate School faculty directory website.

 

 

Name Research Thesis Advisor Education Contact Location Research
Srdjan D. Antic, M.D. Y Y Y antic@uchc.edu
860-679-8468
Main Building
E3052
Dendritic integration of synaptic inputs; dopaminergic modulation of dendritic excitability.
Rashmi Bansal, Ph.D. N Y Y bansal@uchc.edu
860-679-1133
Main Building
E4014
Developmental, cellular and molecular biology of oligodendrocytes; growth factor regulation of function and its relationship to neurodegenerative disease, including multiple sclerosis.
Elisa Barbarese, Ph.D. N N Y barbarese@uchc.edu
860-679-3495
Main Building
E5053
Molecular and cellular biology of neural cells with emphasis on RNA trafficking.
Kyle Baumbauer, Ph.D. Y Y Y kbaumbauer@uchc.edu
860-679-7390
Main Building
L4019
Pain, injury and inflammation-induced plasticity; nociceptive signaling.
Leslie R. Bernstein, Ph.D. Y Y Y les@uchc.edu
860-679-4622
Main Building
L3047
Behavioral neuroscience; psychoacoustics, binaural hearing.
John H. Carson, Ph.D.  Y N Y jcarson@uchc.edu
860-679-2130
400 Farmington
1431
Molecular/developmental neurobiology; myelination; intracellular RNA trafficking; computational cell biology.
Stormy J. Chamberlain, Ph.D.  Y Y Y chamberlain@uchc.edu
860-679-8351
400 Farmington
1236
Uses induced pluripotent stem cells (iPSCs) to study the human neurogenetic disorders, Angelman syndrome and 15q duplication syndrome.
Bojun Chen, PhD. Y Y Y bochen@uchc.edu L4021
Jonathan M. Covault, M.D., Ph.D.  Y N Y covault@uchc.edu
860-679-7560
Main building
L4091
Genetic correlates of alcohol use disorders; role of neuroactive steroids in the effects of alcohol.
Stephen J. Crocker, Ph.D.  Y Y Y crocker@uchc.edu
860-679-8750
Main building
E4054
Brain injury/repair; neurodegenerative diseases; neuroinflammation; myelin injury; neural stem cell differentiation; signal transduction; glia; matrix metalloproteinases/inhibitors.
Elizabeth A. Eipper, Ph.D. Y N Y eipper@uchc.edu
860-679-8898
Main building
E4041
Cell biology/biochemistry/physiology of peptide synthesis; storage/secretion in neurons and endocrine cells.
Marion E. Frank, Ph.D. Y Y Y mfrank@uchc.edu
860-679-3354
Main building
L2076
Gustatory neurophysiology, neuroanatomy, behavior and disorders; chemosensory information processing; clinical testing of oral chemosensory function in humans.
Rosaria Guzzo, PhD Y Y Y guzzo@uchc.edu

860-679-3026

Main Building

E4032

Epigenetic mechanisms underlying pluripotent stem cell differentiation, musculoskeletal development, and tissue homeostasis.
George A. Kuchel, MD, FRCP, AGSF Y Y Y kuchel@uchc.edu

860-679-6796

ASB-2 Aging; Neural regulation of bladder function; Resilience and neural plasticity.
Eric S. Levine, Ph.D. Y Y Y eslevine@uchc.edu
860-679-2145
Main building
E3053
Synaptic plasticity; role of endogenous cannabinoids and nerve growth factors in the hippocampus and cerebral cortex.
Yuanhao “James” Li, Ph.D. jali@uchc.edu
860-679-3836
Main building
E3014
Development of the central nervous system; cellular and molecular mechanisms underlying formation of the mammalian cerebellum
Leslie M. Loew, Ph.D.  Y Y Y les@uchc.edu
860-679-3568
400 Farmington
1608
Morphological determinants of cell physiology; image-based computational models; spatial variations of cell membrane electrophysiology; new optical methods for probing living cells.
Xin-Ming Ma, Ph.D.  Y N Y ma@uchc.edu
860-679-7957
Main building
E4030
Uses Induced pluripotent stem cell (iPSC)-derived neurons are using to study the mechanisms of the human psychiatric disorders, schizophrenia and cocaine addiction. Synaptogenesis and the plasticity of dendritic spines.
Richard E. Mains, Ph.D.  Y N Y mains@uchc.edu
860-679-8894
Main Building
E4056
Neuronal tissue culture; peptides; vesicles; enzymes; drug abuse; development; pituitary.
David Martinelli, PhD. Y Y Y martinelli@uchc.edu

860-679-2271

Main Building

L4003

Genetics, cell biology, biochemistry, and behavioral neuroscience in synaptic adhesion proteins and their role in neuropsychiatric disease.
Royce Mohan, Ph.D.  Y Y Y mohan@uchc.edu
860-679-2020
Main Building
L4023
Developing treatments for conditions and diseases of the eye that involve angiogenesis, fibrosis and gliosis. Developed first pharmacological probe of type III intermediate filaments (IFs), demonstrating the effective targeting of vimentin and glial fibrillary acidic protein by the natural product withaferin A.
Douglas L. Oliver, Ph.D. Y Y Y doliver@uchc.edu
860-679-2241
Main Building
L3042
Circuitry and parallel information processing in the auditory system; neurobiology of hearing, deafness, and tinnitus; role of neuronal cell types and intrinsic membrane properties in information processing; structure and function of CNS sensory systems.
Joel S. Pachter, Ph.D. pachter@uchc.edu
860-679-3698
Main Building
L5051
Mechanisms regulating pathogenesis of CNS infectious/inflammatory disease.
Feliks (Ephraim) Trakhtenberg, Ph.D. Y Y Y trakhtenberg@uchc.edu
860-679-7819
Main Building

L4005

Neuroregeneration: Integrating molecular, genetic, bioinformatic, and translational approaches in studying neuronal development, towards engineering gene therapy and nanotechnology-based therapeutics for regenerating injured nerve/brain tissues and connections.
Zhao-Wen Wang, Ph.D.  Y Y Y zwwang@uchc.edu
860-679-7659
Main Building
L4017
Molecular mechanism of neurotransmitter release regulation, and molecular mechanisms of gap junction function, assembly and regulation using C. elegans as a model system.
Erin E. Young, Ph.D. eyoung@uchc.edu
860-679-2852
400 Farmington
6403
Genetic susceptibility to chronic pain following inflammation and injury with the ultimate goal being the determination of the genetic contributions to chronic pain susceptibility in somatic and visceral pain systems.
Ji Yu, Ph.D.  Y Y Y jyu@uchc.edu
860-679-7680
400 Farmington
1605
Optical imaging technology; regulatory mechanisms in dendritic RNA translation; cytoskeletal dynamics.
Lixia Yue, Ph.D. Y Y Y lyue@uchc.edu
860-679-3069
Main Building
EG024
Calcium signaling mechanism and its physiological/pathological functions in various systems.
Nada Zecevic, M.D., Ph.D.  N  N Y nzecevic@uchc.edu
860-679-1768
Main Building
L5056
Cellular/molecular aspects of CNS development; primate cerebral cortex; Cortical progenitors, stem cells, microglia.